Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Uganda qualifies for Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018

October 10, 2017 1:43 AM
76 0
Uganda qualifies for Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018

Uganda has qualified for the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018 after defeating Zimbabwe 10-7 in a hard fought final of the Africa Rugby Sevens Championship here late Saturday.

The win also guarantees Uganda a place at the Commonwealth Games that will be held in Australia.

The home side has beaten Zambia 33-12 at the semi-final stage, before Zimbabwe also saw off Madagascar 21-10.

“We are happy that we did not suffer defeat in the whole competition and the players have showed that they have what it takes to play at the high level. I am happy that we have retained the Africa title and also qualified for the World Cup and the Commonwealth Games,” said Uganda’s coach Tolbert Onyango.

The championship attracted 10 nations, namely Uganda, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Mauritius, Tunisia, Morocco, Ghana, Botswana, Senegal and Madagascar.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0