Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Ghana name uncapped four

December 27, 2014 11:15 AM
16 0

Ghana coach Avram Grant calls up four new faces in a 31-man provisional squad for the 2015 Afcon.

They include Sweden-based midfielders Enoch Adu Kofi of Malmo and Ibrahim Moro of AIK Stockholm, as well as defender Daniel Amartey of Danish side FC Copenhagen and striker Kwesi Appiah of English League Two side Cambridge United.

Returning to the side are goalkeeper Ernest Sowah of DR Congo side Don Bosco, US-based defender Samuel Inkoom, Alfred Duncan of Sampdoria and another US-based player, David Accam, a striker who recently joined Chicago Fire.

There was no place for experienced midfielders Sulley Muntari, Kevin-Prince Boateng and Michael Essien.

Also missing was goalkeeper Adam Kwarasey who has not played for the Black Stars since their disappointing World Cup showing. The US-based star snubbed a call to feature in the final round of qualifying for the Afcon in November.

The Black Stars open their campaign against Senegal before games against Algeria and South Africa.

Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Mirandes, Spain), Adams Stephen (Aduana Stars), Fatau Dauda (AshGold) and Ernest Sowah (Don Bosco, DR Congo)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), John Boye (Erciyesspor, Turkey), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Jeffery Schlupp (Leicester City, England), Awal Mohammed (Maritzburg, South Africa), Kwabena Adusei (Mpumalanga Black Aces, South Africa), Baba Rahman (Augsburg, Germany), Gyimah Edwin (Mpumalanga Black Aces, South Africa), Samuel Inkoom (Houston Dynamo, USA), Daniel Amartey, (FC Copenhagen, Denmark)

Midfielders: Rabiu Mohammed (Krasnodar, Russia), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Parma, Italy), Solomon Asante (T.P. Mazembe, DR Congo), Christian Atsu (Everton, England), Mubarak Wakaso (Celtic, Scotland), Andre Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France), Alfred Duncan (Sampdoria, Italy), Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough, England), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium), Adu Kofi (Malmo, Sweden), Ibrahim Moro (AIK Stockholm, Sweden)

Forwards: Jordan Ayew (Lorient, France), Abdul-Majeed Waris (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Kwesi Appiah (Cambridge United, England), David Accam (Chicago Fire, USA)


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0